Botetourt County


Public Administration & Government

About Us

Botetourt County is located in the southwestern portion of the state in the scenic Roanoke Valley of Virginia. Botetourt County, founded in 1770, is historically unique. It was initially formed from Augusta County and it derived its name from Lord Botetourt, who was the Governor of Virginia. After the Revolutionary War, the County’s jurisdiction was extended to the Mississippi River, encompassing what is now West Virginia, Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana, and part of Illinois and Wisconsin.
Botetourt County has a five-member elected Board of Supervisors which oversees most of the county’s government-related operations. The members are chosen from five election districts and a board chairman is elected annually from among those five members.


Gallery Image 15259067_1606101809696814_7035224214021865472_n.jpg
Gallery Image 14566657_366987480320193_7703953379378069504_n.jpg
Gallery Image 14705159_1785003408443590_5870260080678535168_n.jpg
Gallery Image 14659431_167315463723690_2404005693649584128_n.jpg
Gallery Image 13734384_662926063859985_2092154587_a_020218-095906.jpg